Skip to content

“I Get My Advice from the Advertising World…”

March 9, 2013

Title courtesy of Koka Kola, by The Clash

It’s gardening catalog season again. They arrive in the mail, shiny and bright, filled with colorful photographs of gleaming fruits and vegetables. They promise award-winning harvests, plants that grow themselves, and lip-smacking heirloom produce. They use words like “beautiful,” “bountiful,” and “easy,” as if plants will blossom just being in the vicinity of their products. While it’s simple to give in to their vision, often it’s much better not to.

Even if you start it for environmental reasons, gardening for food can be just as consumerist as any other hobby. Needless to say, companies haven’t ignored the homesteading trend. Garden supply stores have been around for decades, but the market has expanded drastically in recent years. When Williams and Sonoma has an entire “Agrarian” section that even includes chicken coops and beekeepers’ suits – two of the more hardcore contingents of home agriculture – you know that it’s not just for cheap hippies anymore. Their chicken coop alone, with its fashionably faded red paint, starts at a mere $600.

While these visions of idyllic homesteading are tempting – I know I look at them longingly and try to convince Chris that raising chickens would be awesome – it’s just another version of advertising’s same old story. “If you just buy our stuff, you and your house will be beautiful and your life will be awesome,” it whispers.

However, unlike clothes, beauty products or electronics, many of the items offered in gardening catalogs are easy to make, often from recycled materials. (And to do so without a special, overpriced DIY kit.) One of the better catalogs, Gardeners’ Supply Company, has a whole collection of tools that promise to make life easier, from ready-made raised beds to high tunnel hoops. However, most of these things can be easily constructed with a little knowledge and a few items from the hardware or a local recycled goods store. Instead of plastic garden markers that always get lost, we’ve refashioned old metal clothes hangers into them with tape. We’ve already built a worm box for $30 and an about a hour and a half of work that’s just as functional as their $110 Worm Factory. Similarly, we just bought $40 worth of lighting supplies this weekend and will be using some leftover lumber to construct a seed starting array. In contrast, their cheapest “SunLite” garden for sprouting seeds is $199 (also available as a “simple monthly payment” of $24.88). In addition to saving a ton of money, we get the satisfaction of using something we’ve constructed with our own hands. I recognize this approach isn’t practical for everyone, but it’s worth trying a few times.

The other temptation gardening catalogs offer is buying a bunch of stuff that you won’t even use. I have this particular problem with seed catalogs. Looking at all of the different varieties, I imagine a garden with a huge diversity of plants, far larger and neater than our relatively small plot. As a result, between seed exchanges, free seeds from Rooting DC, purchasing on a whim from the gardening store, and ordering from catalogs, I always end up with far more seeds than I could ever put in the ground in a single year. While none are particularly expensive and many are free, it’s still a waste.

To me, the best way to fight this urge is to allow my garden’s needs to drive my purchases, not the other way around. I try not to buy something until a specific need comes up, and I know exactly what I will use it for. While I didn’t “need” a worm box, I didn’t purchase it until I knew how to take care of worms and how to use their compost. Similarly, I’m building the seed starting setup because raising my seeds indoors without them has failed miserably the last two years. While I’m never this organized, I know I could cut down on my seed hoarding issue by actually planning out what I’m growing and then choose seeds based around that map, rather than on my over-active imagination.

If urban and home agriculture really is about turning our industrial food system on its head, we have to be willing to do things differently and not have them just delivered to us. Before purchasing, I need to ask myself these three questions: 1) Do I really need this and if so, what will I use it for? 2) Can I borrow it from someone else? 3) Can I make it myself in a more sustainable fashion? If I can truthfully answer those three questions, then I can go ahead and buy it. If not, then I need to consider why I really want it – for my actual, real-life garden or some fantasy perpetuated by shiny images. Growing food is a messy, real business; there’s no room in my garden for glossy advertisements.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2013 1:38 pm

    I’m trying to remember what tools we used back when we bought bread, milk,and treats, Dad raised our meat, and everything else came out of Mother’s garden. She had a wheel-hoe, not as good a wheel hoe as the Culta-Eze I use for my play garden.

    There had to have been a hoe, spade, and shovel — it was a ditching spade if I recall correctly. I don’t remember a spading fork; I do remember a “weed hook” that let you cut a large weed at ground level without bending over, but that was used in the bean field — in the garden, we got down on our knees and pulled weeds by hand. I was assigned to the onions because they were easy to tell from weeds, but at first I had to taste the grass before I pulled it. I don’t think the weed hook was used much, because if you don’t pull the roots out, the weed grows back.

    Mom’s apron was a gardening tool: when the hogs got out, she flapped it and yelled “Bush!Bush!Bush!”

    Dad was supposed to plow the garden, but he couldn’t always get into it before the peas had to be planted.

    We never composted anything — garbage was thrown into the chicken yard or the field in front of the house. I run a compost heap now, but it’s just a place where I throw garbage and weeds. Sometimes I pile lake weed on it, if someone else has raked it out of the lake. On a few occasions, I’ve thrown the compost heap onto a hardware-cloth screen and put what went through into the garden and the rest back onto the heap. Mostly I just rake it into the garden, then rake the big pieces back.

    • March 14, 2013 1:01 pm

      I love the image of your mom using the apron as a gardening tool! That’s hilarious. Some tools are definitely needed – I use my spade, weeder, shovel, and wheelbarrow constantly – but the old fashioned ones are often the best.

  2. March 10, 2013 10:16 pm

    Good thoughts on the commitment it takes to detach at least a little from the food industry and from letting big business create and then market to our “needs.”

  3. March 10, 2013 10:25 pm

    Well, plant as much as you can now…either you won’t have time or gardening might be your respite when baby is born. My sister’s garden got a bit weedy when she had her lst child..then 2 years later another one.

    So she does simple stuff….half of what she used to do.

    • March 14, 2013 1:03 pm

      Most of my garden is very low-upkeep once the plants get in the ground, so we’ll mainly just be harvesting after the kid arrives. Chris likes gardening too, so I’ll be recruiting him to do more.

Trackbacks

  1. This week in the Slacktiverse, March 10th, 2013 | The Slacktiverse
  2. Helping Your Garden Grow with DIY Lights | Will Bike for Change (or Pie!)

Leave a Reply

